Shelley Prowse Davis Independent Celebrant

Personal Wedding Ceremonies and Baby Naming Celebrations in London, Cambridge, Suffolk and Birmingham

Making memories

For the past fortnight, I’ve been busy taking care of my mum.

Mum is in her mid-sixties now and three years ago she was diagnosed with a condition that will eventually kill her.  It is not terminal in the way that cancer is, but we know that it will eventually lead to her death.  I am coming to terms with this.  Previously, we had conversations about what she would want her funeral to be like and she’s asked me to officiate.  I promised I would. I may do it through a veil of tears, utterly unable to speak, but I’ll do it for her.

But as I sat by her bedside, hearing the monitor beep, I thought of all of the memories of her I had.  The memories we made together.  When I was little, when I grew up, when I met and married.  I still remember her on my wedding day, telling me that I couldn’t get married again because she couldn’t cope with the stress!  Mum still has the pictures though, tucked away in her purse.  I’ve heard her tell complete strangers that it was a beautiful day, like a fairy tale.

She has those memories to look back on and so do I.  Happy, joyous times, in photographs or in our thoughts. Even when she’s in a hospital bed or 100 miles away.

It’s not just about us, the ones who are getting married.  It’s about out family and friends too. It’s all about having those moments.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 2 November 2011 by in Uncategorized.
