Shelley Prowse Davis Independent Celebrant

Personal Wedding Ceremonies and Baby Naming Celebrations in London, Cambridge, Suffolk and Birmingham

Buckland Hall – a holistic vegetarian and vegan venue

As you will see, I don’t review that many venues. The reason is mainly because I only want to show places that I would recommend.

Earlier this year, I had the pleasure of conducting a wedding ceremony at Buckland Hall in Wales.

When I was first contacted by the couple in question, I wondered why they were choosing a venue so far from home. After explaining that they were both strict vegetarian with some vegan family members and I had looked at the website I understood. I’d have chosen there as well.

To be absolutely honest, think I’d have chosen there if I’d have been coming from he other side of the world. Buckland Hall is glorious. Have a look for yourself: www.bucklandhall.co.uk


So, what makes this place so special?

I’d been driving across country for about 5 hours by the time I got there. It had been pouring in Cambridge when I left, but despite all reports to the contrary, it was sunny when I finally found my way to Buckland Hall. The mansion is carefully hidden out of the reach of Satellite Navigation half way up one of the Brecon Beacons. This doesn’t mean that it’s hard to find though – there are signs from the main road that take you safely to the door. The breathtaking Welsh scenery is spread out before you in the grounds. I even saw a buzzard sitting on a fence post 100 yards from where I’d parked (don’t quote me on that – it could have been a red kite) and I immediately fell in love with the place.

Having private or sole use of the venue is very important for a wedding in a venue this secluded and I believe this is always the case at Buckland. This gives it more the feel of a very special family home, rather than a venue you’ve hired for the occasion. The staff even aided in this feel by being unobtrusive but never far away if you need them.

From a professional point of view, there was ample carparking, the hall is not overlooked and wouldn’t be troubled by noise issues either. The whole venue is run with a holisitc and vegetarian ethos, which I personally find very attractive – it’s great to see a venue where they practice what they preach. Where you don’t have to worry about bringing your own caterers in if you’re not sure.

The main ceremony room is very spacious with a sweeping staircase, ready for your grand entrance, but if you are using a celebrant, why not think about using the extensive grounds? The gently sloping lawns provide a natural theatre and there is ample space under the stone arches to remove the ceremony to should the Wet Welsh Weather put in an appearance. Talking of which, it did rain while I was there, but it was worth it for the rainbow afterwards. The arboretum would also be beautiful for a Woodland Wedding or Handfasting.

If you would like to talk to me about the possibility of having your own unique ceremony, please drop me an email

For more information about Buckland Hall, please contact Nikki Dale event@bucklandhall.co.uk

[All photographs are used with the kind permission of Buckland Hall]

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 9 November 2011 by in Uncategorized.
