Shelley Prowse Davis Independent Celebrant

Personal Wedding Ceremonies and Baby Naming Celebrations in London, Cambridge, Suffolk and Birmingham

Have you forgotten to book the registrar for your weddng?

A few weeks ago, I received a rather panicked email.

“I was wondering if you could help, I’m getting married in a week and I didn’t book the registrar in time!”

Imagine the scene:

Dress hanging under wraps, hidden at the back of the back of the wardrobe.

Invitations sent, accepted, food choices made.

In your head, you’re half way there, the music you’ve chosen is playing as you walk up the aisle and…

Uh-oh.

If this has happened, there are some things you can do to prevent you from having to cancel the lot and start all over again:

First of all, check with the registry office, under certain circumstances, they can issue you with a waiver.

Email me as soon as you can – I can then be aware that you might need a ceremony from me if the waiver doesn’t come through. (There will only be a charge if you ask me to complete a ceremony for you – I am quite happy to be ‘on-call’ in case you don’t get what you need)

If you don’t get the waiver, I’ll then start work on the ceremony and be ready for the day.  Everything can remain as you booked it and take place on the day everyone is expecting, with no disturbance or expensive cancellations.  The legal aspect of your union can then take place elsewhere, later on.

See, nothing to panic about at all.

Leave a Reply

