Shelley Prowse Davis Independent Celebrant

Personal Wedding Ceremonies and Baby Naming Celebrations in London, Cambridge, Suffolk and Birmingham

How to write your own wedding vows

Do you want to write your own wedding vows? With every wedding ceremony I write I always ask my couples if they want to write their own wedding ceremony vows. Most take me up on the offer. Your wedding vows are the part of your unique wedding ceremony that the rest of your lives are built on.  They are your promises to each other, the marriage vows you make to your beloved.

Here are my top tips to my couples who want to write their own vows:

  • It may be obvious, but think about what you want to promise and why you want to make that wedding vow.
  • Think about how long you want to promise it for. You will change and grow together over time.
  • If you are likely to be nervous, don’t make your vows too long. I can suggest alternatives if you don’t want to be speaking for too long.
  • If you are keeping your promises secret until your big day, find someone to read both of your vows.  I offer this at no extra charge to all of my couples.

Are you interested in having a wedding ceremony where you can write your own vows? Please email me for more information.

Leave a Reply

